The LFC fansite that... can't be doing with the Clarence being shut on matchdays

Categories

 

Archives

    2011/12
  • May 2024
  • April 2024
  • March 2024
  • February 2024
  • January 2024
  • December 2023
  • November 2023
  • October 2023
  • September 2023
 
 

An open letter to FSG. If not now, why not? And when is the right time?

A door has been slightly opened but will Brendan Rodgers and more importantly Fenway Sports Group grasp the nettle and kick it wide open?

Liverpool fc, liverpool fans, LFC, YNWA, Jonjo Shelvey There comes a time when all dynasties come to an end and the retirement of the purple nosed drunk down the East Lancs could see the end of the evil empire. We were there once when we dominated English football in the 70s & 80s. One wrong appointment coinciding with the advent of the Premier league with the riches it bestowed and we were trampled over like a couple of grannies at the Christmas sales.

David Moyes has done an incredible job across the park on a very limited budget, but when it comes to European football and the expectations that are going to come his way, I am not sure he yet has that in him to cope.

Add to the mix Man City shooting themselves in the foot by sacking Mancini and bring in a manager that has no premiership experience in the shape of Manuel Pellegrini and we could see several of this years top four teams struggling in the league next season.

Lets put things into prospective, all this talk about Moyes inheriting a great squad of players that have just won the league, is basically shite. The premiership has been woeful this year and United happened to be the best of a bad bunch.

How many players from their squad would you take? Without a doubt Robin Van Persie and for all his lackluster performances this year you would have to say Rooney, throw in Vidic (who has spent most of the season injured) and maybe Nani at a push. Carrick, Young you could make cases for to enhance a squad but they are far from being Scholes, Giggs or Keane in their pomp.

You know Chelsea will be stronger, especially if they bring in Falcao and City are going to improve again with the budget they have, but as stated earlier the unknown element there is Pellegrini. For me all four Champions League places are up for grabs. Tottenham and Arsenal will make a claim, but like us they are still developing.

That brings me to Brendan Rodgers and Fenway Sports Group, if ever there was a time to take the bull by the horns and make a massive play for the Champions League this is the time. We all know what happened when we came 2nd to United under Rafa, with a points total that would have won the title any other year. We needed investment to kick on but we had a pair of clowns in charge and the rest is history.

When Rafa put forward names like David Villa, David Silva and Jaun Mata he was knocked back, we now watch those players light up the Premiership for teams that backed their manager.

If Fenway Sports want to win titles and become a regular fixture in the Champions league, there is going to be no better time, the ball is in your court. You are custodians of our club and stand at the précipice of taking Liverpool back to where trophies used to turn up more times than a drunken Scot at Howard Webbs door. We all wait to see if you kick the door open, or wait for it to shut, getting your fingers caught as the door shuts is not an option.

Liverpool fc, liverpool fans, LFC, YNWA, Jonjo Shelvey

blog comments powered by Disqus

 

Sponsors

Sign Up Bonus_200x160

 

planetgolfreview.com

http://www.theliverpolitan.com
 
 

Blogs

What's happened to our
fan base?

 

We sing a song called “You’ll Never Walk Alone” but you wonder if some fans at our club actually know and understand the words, they probably just mime them, you know when you see footage from Glastonbury and the camera pans to the front of the crowd listening to some unknown band and you see the girls on the shoulders of their partners pretending they know all the words to the song, when they clearly haven’t got a clue trying to look cool, but actually making fools of themselves.
By James Mason read more

 

Liverpool fc, liverpool fans, LFC, YNWA, Fans, Liverpool fans, Liverpool supporters

 

When the Ball hits the net

 

Early 1990s, it would’ve been, when Bill went to Melwood to interview Don Hutchison and came back raving about Robbie Fowler. Like me, Bill wrote for the football magazine 90 Minutes, and Don Hutch had just broken into Liverpool’s first team. Interview in the bag, Bill was about to head home when he saw an unfamiliar young figure in training kit do something astonishing.
By The Liverpolitan read more

 

The forgotten Semi Final Vs Mönchengladbach

 

The Forgotten Semi Final

 

It’s 34 years since Liverpool beat Borussia Mönchengladbach to reach their second successive European Cup final – but who’s ever seen the second-leg goals since?
By The Liverpolitan read more

The forgotten Semi Final Vs Mönchengladbach

 

The Hillsborough Tapestry

 

Hillsborough remained in the headlines throughout 2011, not least because of the online petition that triggered calls for the full release of documents for debate, and lately more lame remarks by insufferable former tabloid editors. read more

Hillsborough Tapestry

 

New Stadium Debate

 

It seems Fenway Sports Group (FSG) have made a decision on the proposed new stadium. They have decided to go ahead with the pre Hicks and Gillett stadium plans once they have secured the finance to start construction. read more

 

Liverpool new stadium, anfieldreview.com, liverpool stadium move

 

Blast From The Past

 

Not that he’s remotely relevant anymore, but still this old footage of Michael Owen at France 98 took me back, unearthed while going through some old Liverpool FC-related VHS tapes heading for the wheelie bin. read more

 

Michael Owen Goal Vs Argentina, World Cup, Liverpool fc, England

 

 

 

 

Home | Gallery |  Features | Match Reports | About Us | Contact Us
     
Copyright © 2012 anfieldreview.com | Designed by James Mason & Free CSS Templates